Plebian Translation

Watarabu V2 Chapter 3 Part 3

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


3

Finally, leaving the art preparation room, we headed towards the Class 2-A. As we walked side by side in the corridor, many students glanced at us with curious eyes. Still, thanks to the morning hug, Yorka was in a good mood.

Alright, now was the perfect time to bring up the karaoke plan with Nanamura and the others.

“Hey, so, we’re going to karaoke with Nanamura and the others this Friday. Would you like to join, Yorka?”

“No.”

She rejected it without even a hint of hesitation. She didn’t even bother to ask for details.

“Oh, well. That’s a no, then.”

“Rather, why do you think I’d go?” Yorka responded as if it was obvious. Her consistency made me feel somewhat relieved. In a sense, her reaction was as expected.

“Because you’ll spend a good time with your boyfriend so I thought you might surprisingly be okay with it.”

“You know I’m not good with that kind of lively atmosphere, like karaoke, right?”

“Well, yeah, I know. But could it be you’re not good at singing?”

“I like music.”

“There’s really nothing you’re bad at.”

Being able to handle most things above average was quite something.

“…It’s not like that.”

“Can you tell me one weakness for future reference?”

“…………” Yorka, lowering her face, pointed softly at me instead of answering. I turned to look behind me, but of course there was nothing there.

“Ah, well. That’s, um… thanks.” I ended up feeling embarrassed too.

“That’s why.” Although she said it first, she blushed to her ears. It seemed the morning hug’s effect was indeed big on her.

“Your surprise attack is unfair, Yorka.”

“I will only do it occasionally.”

“Hey, Yorka.”

“What?”

“Can we hug one more time?”

“────No, not in the hallway!” At Yorka’s loud voice, students in the hallway turned to look at us.

“Yoryor, Sumisumi! Good morning!” When we entered the classroom, Miyauchi Hinaka noticed us and came over.

“Good morning, Miyauchi-san.”

“Morning, Miyachi.”

“You two are lovey-dovey even from the morning ~”

Miyauchi Hinaka was a very petite girl with flashy blonde short hair, piercings on her ears, and big round eyes that gave her a small-animal-like impression. Slim with fair skin, she wore an oversized purple hoodie over her uniform, letting the long sleeves flap around.

“Yoryor, you tried it right away!” Miyachi squinted her eyes.

“Well, yeah. Something like that,” Yorka acknowledged this while being conscious of me, about how she put Miyachi’s advice from yesterday into action.

“Miyachi, I heard you were with Yorka yesterday. Thanks.”

“You don’t have to thank me, Sumisumi. I just hung out with a friend.”

“Yeah, I had fun too. Thanks, Miyauchi-san.”

Hearing this, Miyachi spoke with a hint of dissatisfaction, “Hey, Yoryor, there’s something I’ve been wanting to say.”

“W-What is it?”

“Using ‘san’ is too formal. We’re friends, so feel free to call me by my first name.”

“But it’s too sudden…”

“Don’t be shy. Come on, right now, start calling me by my name!”

Miyachi waved her sleeves, egging Yorka on.

“Um… then, I’ll call you Hinaka. Hinaka-chan.”

“Yeah, that’s perfect, Yoryor!” Miyachi showed her canine teeth and smiled happily.

Yorka wasn’t accustomed to close interactions with her female friends. She looked a bit uneasy as she took her seat.

“Yoryor is really innocent. It makes me all fluttery.”

“Having you around is reassuring,” I said.

“I like Yoryor too, you know.”

It was truly great that Yorka, who struggled with socializing, had found someone other than me to open up to.

“Yo, good morning!” As if swapping with Yorka, Nanamura joined the conversation.

“Sena, how about that thing with Arisaka-chan?”

“Nope. She doesn’t show the slightest interest.”

“That’s so typical Arisaka-chan,” Nanamura seemed to have expected this situation from the start.

“What should we do? Should only the three of us go?”

“Unthinkable! We need more girls! So, Miyauchi, how about it? Let’s go to karaoke this Friday after school.”

“Karaoke? Sounds good! I’m in! I’ll showcase my singing talents!”

Nanamura invited Miyachi, who was right beside him and she enthusiastically agreed.

“Nice, Miyauchi!” Nanamura and Miyachi high-fived on the spot. Due to the height difference, it looked like Miyachi was doing a vertical jump.

“You mentioned three people, right? Who’s the other one?”

“Sena’s junior from middle school. She’s the cute one.”

“Huh, a girl? Isn’t that a bit risky? Doesn’t Yoryor have anything to say about this?” Miyachi’s expression darkened slightly.

“Don’t worry. Since Sena is organizing it and he only has eyes for Arisaka-chan, there won’t be any issues.”

“I invited Yorka earlier, but she turned me down before I could explain the details,” I confessed honestly.

“…I’ll explain the situation and invite Yoryor again. Just wait a bit.” Without waiting for a response, Miyachi headed towards Yorka’s seat. Nanamura and I watched the scene unfold.

“If Miyachi goes, Yorka will probably join.”

“I don’t know. Arisaka-chan won’t come unless there’s a good reason,” asserted Nanamura.

“Does that mean Yorka wouldn’t mind if I hang out with another girl? I’d be seriously worried if I were her.”

“Idiot, it’s the opposite. Arisaka-chan trusts you enough to believe you won’t cheat on her.” Nanamura’s words, rich in romantic experience, boosted my confidence.

Miyachi, who was talking to Yorka, turned back and crossed her arms above her head, forming an ‘X’. It seemed her invitation was also unsuccessful.

I wanted Yorka to come somehow. But as Nanamura said, finding that ‘good reason’ wasn’t easy.

Before I could think of a convincing reason, Kanzaki-sensei entered the classroom. The usual morning homeroom began.

Throughout the day, I observed Yorka’s behavior in the classroom, but it seemed unchanged from before. The morning hug in the art preparation room truly had a tremendous effect.

However, during math class when I was called to the blackboard to solve equations, I felt an unusual gaze on my back. When I turned around, Yorka was staring at me intently.

“So, this is what Kanzaki-sensei was talking about. No wonder it’s noticeable.”

For a conspicuous girl like Yorka, even subtle movements attracted attention.

After writing down my answers, I casually took a detour and passed by Yorka’s desk. I leaned closer to her and whispered, “You’re looking at me too much.”

Yorka startled, covering her ears and glaring at me as if blaming me. I merely warned her; I didn’t do anything to warrant getting scolded for.

Once seated, my phone in my pocket vibrated

Yorka: Seriously, my ears are sensitive! Are you doing this on purpose?

She’s being unreasonable. If I spoke to her in a regular voice, everyone would hear.

Immediately, another message arrived.

Yorka: Also, you made a miscalculation.

“Sorry, Sensei! I noticed a calculation error, may I redo it?”

I hastily raised my voice, prompting laughter in the class. Apparently, I wasn’t that different from Yorka as I distracted by my girlfriend’s gaze.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started