Plebian Translation

Watarabu V2 Chapter 3 Part 4

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


4

The next day. Wednesday morning.

When I left home at the usual time unlike yesterday, Yukinami Sayu was waiting in front of my house.

“Good morning! Let’s go to school together, Senpai!”

“Whoa!? Morning. Why are you here?”

Despite being not a morning person, she’s donned her school uniform fashionably while wearing a bright smile.

“Since we’re going to the same school again, I thought it’d be nice to chat with Senpai on the way.”

“If you were waiting, you could’ve just pressed the intercom.”

“Mornings are busy, so I didn’t want to cause any inconvenience. I also wanted to surprise you a bit.”

“You really enjoy surprise attacks, huh?”

She suddenly appeared in the hallway last time, surprising me quite a bit.

“Pfft! Surprises are my specialty! Don’t change the nuance subtly, please!”

“I don’t mind going to school together, but you’ve become quite the early riser.”

“After Senpai retired, I’ve been joining morning practice alone.”

“You’ve grown. Good job.” I sighed deeply.

They said that troublesome kids were the cutest, and after about a year and a half of picking up Sayu from the Yukinami household almost every morning, I couldn’t help but feel sentimental. Sayu was an excellent player, and I took pride in supporting her plays behind the scenes.

“Getting compliments at this point feels kind of awkward.”

“You’ll get all cocky if I praise you, right?”

“I don’t like guys who aren’t gentle.”

“Then it seems like I’m not liked. I’m heading out first; I’ll be late.”

“Wait up!” As I started walking, Sayu followed alongside.

“Senpai, you were up quite early yesterday. When I came to pick you up, I was told you’d already left. Is it because of class rep duties or something?”

“You came yesterday morning too?”

“Yes. But you stood me up.”

“We didn’t make any plans in the first place. If you’re coming, at least give me a heads-up.”

“…Um, is it okay if I send a LINE message?” Sayu’s eyes widened.

“I could decline in advance if you sent me a text.”

“That’s mean! You would decline? Senpai, you’re such a devil.”

With such banter, we engaged in casual conversation until we merged into the crowd of students in the same uniforms.

“Did your girlfriend agree to karaoke?”

“She declined. She said she’s not interested.”

“You need to be more responsible as the one in charge. Also, do most girls turn down the invitation from their boyfriends?”

“That’s just how Yorka is.”

“Could it be she secretly dislikes you? My condolences.”

“Don’t console me. Yorka and I are doing fine.”

“Oh, really, hmm…” Sayu gazed at my face intently.

“What is it?”

“It just doesn’t seem like you’re putting on a front. It contradicts my analysis a bit.”

“What do you mean by analysis?”

“I thought maybe you took advantage of Arisaka-senpai’s weakness and gradually entered a relationship before forcing a public announcement. Perhaps she is just trying things out, not serious about you.”

“You’ve got quite the imagination,” I said, exasperated.

“Well, you two are the most shocking couple in the school. People talk about this a lot.”

“There’s no gossip to meet your expectations. We simply like each other, I confessed, and we started dating.”

It was quite straightforward when you put it into words.

“You can’t end up dating someone so beautiful by just doing things normally.”

“Are you really curious about how we got together?”

“…Alright then, what if I told you I’ve got someone I like? What would you think, Senpai?”

“Huh, for real this time? Who is it?”

“Come on, Senpai, you’re interested in other people’s love lives too! You’re getting too into this!”

“No, it’s just I can’t imagine what kind of guy you like.”

Sayu had been popular among guys since middle school. Come to think of it, I had never asked about her ideal type.

“It was surprising even for me.”

“Wait, really?”

Apparently, she did have someone in mind. Her reaction is unusually meek. I wonder who managed to capture Yukinami Sayu’s heart.

“Could it be… you’re a bit disappointed because your cute junior has someone she likes?” Sayu grinned slyly while staring at my face.

“Well, maybe a little…”

“I-I didn’t expect such a straightforward reaction, I got a bit confused.” For some reason, Sayu seemed perplexed.

“Anyway, I’m rooting for you. I don’t know who it is, but I hope everything works out.”

“That’s none of your business.”

“Why are you getting mad?”

I had no idea.

Somehow, we had arrived near the school gate without realizing it. As we were about to turn the corner, I almost collided with a girl coming from the opposite direction.

“Ki-senpai!” Sayu, who noticed first, pulled my arm.

“Whoa.”

“Ah, sorry.”

Our eyes met with the girl.

“Oh, good morning, Kisumi-kun.” Hasekura Asaki greeted me with a smile.

She’s my classmate and also a fellow class representative. Just the other day, she confessed to me and I turned her down.

“Good morning, Asaki-san.” I managed to stick to our usual routine and addressed her by her first name. Asaki-san, the central figure of our grade, looked radiant as always.

Her loosely permed, bright brown hair swayed around her shoulders. The subtle makeup enhanced her well-defined features, and her sense of fashion shone through with tasteful accessories.

“It’s rare to meet you on the way to school. Is this your usual time, Kisumi-kun?”

“Today’s just a coincidence.”

“Oh, really? Arisaka-san isn’t with you this morning. This girl is cute too.” Asaki-san suddenly noticed Sayu who was beside me and made a prickly remark.

“Um, about her…”

“Yesterday you walked into the classroom with your girlfriend and today you’re happily arm in arm with another girl. Sena-kun, you’re quite popular, aren’t you?” Asaki-san interjected before I could explain, maintaining her smiling demeanor that’s a bit intimidating.

I know, I know. If I were walking to school with my girlfriend, Yorka, it would be understandable. But walking with a different girl today did raise some eyebrows.

I untangled Sayu’s still-linked arm from mine and began my explanation. “This girl is my junior from middle school. We happened to walk together today because her house is nearby, Asaki-san.”

“Oh, I see. I didn’t know you had such a cute junior. Are you keeping her a secret too?”

Considering the recent announcement of my relationship, I steadied myself before replying to her probing question. “No, I only found out she was in Eisei recently.”

Upon my response, Asaki-san looked at Sayu with interest.

“Hey, hey, Senpai. Why are you so friendly with Hasekura-senpai? You call each other by your first names and all,” Sayu whispered, tugging on my sleeve.

“Why do you even know Asaki-san?” When I looked at Asaki-san, she shook her head.

“She came to the tea ceremony club for a trial membership once. I believe her name was… Yukinami Sayu-san, right?” Asaki-san, who was good at remembering other people’s faces and names, said her name accurately.

“Wow, you remembered! Yes, I’m Yukinami, a first-year.”

“Sorry, your impression was so different last time that I couldn’t recall your name immediately. You seem energetic now.”

“Y-Yeah, that’s true. Last time it was early in the morning.”

“Yukinami-san, are you not interested in joining the tea ceremony club?”

“To be honest, I’m not good at sitting formally, and besides, the club advisor seemed strict.”

The advisor for the tea ceremony club, of course, was my homeroom teacher, Kanzaki Shizuru.

“That’s a shame. Kanzaki-sensei is really nice. Right, Kisumi-kun?”

“Why are you asking me?”

“You’re the one who’s been most helpful to her. You’ve been trusted as a class rep since our first year and you two seem to have a close relationship.”

“When you put it like that, it sounds like some touching story with a teacher.” I deflected with a light-hearted response, but I didn’t deny it.

“Hey, how about we continue this conversation while walking? We might be late if we stand here.” Prompted by Asaki-san, the three of us started walking side by side.

The glances directed at me from passing male students were painful. Well, if you were walking with Asaki-san and Sayu on either side, it was bound to attract attention.

“You’re quite the popular guy to have both of us by your side since morning, Kisumi-kun.”

“Coming from you, that sounds like a compliment.”

“Well, I am popular, after all.” Asaki-san confidently declared without a hint of embarrassment.

Her popularity was a well-known fact, and her straightforward and bright personality played a significant role. She was adept at consideration and skilled at giving compliments, a popular figure without any airs.

“What kind of person are you dating, Hasekura-senpai?” Sayu’s question assumed Asaki-san had a boyfriend out of the blue.

“I’m not dating anyone. Plus, I just got turned down recently,” Asaki-san said, lowering her voice as if it’s a secret.

I almost snorted secretly.

“What!? Even Hasekura-senpai goes through that?”

“It happens. Come to think of it, both confessing and getting rejected were firsts for me.”

“The other person must be an incredibly handsome guy if he turned down someone as beautiful as you.”

“He’s just an ordinary person.”

“I hope whoever turned down your confession regrets it for life. But, he must lack discernment or has a good reason not to accept Hasekura-senpai’s confession, right?”

“Thanks for comforting me, Yukinami-san. You’re so kind.”

“Just call me Sayu!”

“Alright, Sayu-chan it is. You don’t have to call me by my surname either.”

“Yes, Asa-senpai!”

In an instant, Asaki-san and Sayu hit it off. Listening to their conversation, my stomach churned.

“Ki-senpai, don’t you think the other person is being mean too? Who does he think he is for rejecting Asa-senpai’s first confession?”

“Hahaha. Yeah, pretty much.” A dry laugh was all that came out.

“Hey, Kisumi-kun, won’t you comfort me too?”

“Huh? Me!?”

“Yeah.” Asaki-san asked with a smile.

“Well, there’s not much I can say…”

“Nothing at all?”

“Ugh…”

Why was Asaki-san acting so nonchalant about this? Was it a way of getting back at me, the one who rejected her confession? Or perhaps, confessing meant little to her compared to what I thought. I couldn’t fathom the reason behind her remarkably indifferent attitude.

“Kisumi-kun is very fun to tease.” Asaki-san smiled mysteriously.

“You’re not very sharp, Ki-senpai. Women’s hearts easily drift away if you can’t say something clever when it matters.”

“That’s right ~ ” Asaki-san playfully chimed in agreement.

“Oh! Since we’re at it, why not join us for karaoke, Asa-senpai? We’re going this Friday with Ki-senpai and Nanamura-senpai,” Sayu suggested.

“Sayu, what are you saying?”

“I thought Asa-senpai could use a little distraction. Plus, it’s not a problem, right? Nanamura-senpai is her classmate too.”

“You’re being too forward all of a sudden.”

“I just want to talk more and become friends with Asa-senpai.”

It seemed like Sayu had taken a liking to Asaki-san.

“Sure, I’m free on Friday. I’ll come too,” Asaki-san agreed without hesitation.

“Huh? You’re not refusing?”

“Why would I? Is there a problem with me being there?”

“Well, if you’re fine with it, then I guess it’s okay…” My response became awkward unintentionally.

“Then it’s settled. I haven’t been to karaoke in ages, so I’m looking forward to it! Sayu-chan, thanks for inviting me!”

“I’m happy I get to hang out with you, Asa-senpai!”

The two girls, who had quickly become close, exchanged contact information and completely left me out of the loop.

This was turning into quite a situation. I got abandoned as the organizer, and the participants was increasing on its own.

Amidst this chaos, we arrived at school. After passing through the gate, we parted ways with Sayu.

“I had no idea you have such a cute underclassman. You guys seem close.”

“It’s because of Sayu’s personality. She quickly got close to you too.”

“Well, let’s just go with that.” After we changed into indoor shoes, Asaki-san asked to confirm.

“Hey, Kisumi-kun, who’s coming to karaoke?”

“It’s me, Nanamura, Sayu, and Miyachi. And you too.”

“Hinaka-chan is coming, but not Arisaka-san?”

“I invited her but she declined.”

“Hmm. Why not try inviting her again? I think she’d come if you mention this group.”

“No way. Yorka doesn’t change her mind so easily.”

“Is that so—ah!” Asaki-san, as if she had a sudden idea, curved her lips into a crescent-moon smile. Her gaze was fixed behind me.

“Thanks for inviting me! I’m looking forward to the karaoke on Friday!” Asaki-san suddenly raised her voice and headed toward the stairs.

“What was that just now?”

“Kisumi!” When I turned around, Arisaka Yorka was there, having just arrived at school.

“Did you invite Hasekura Asaki to karaoke too?”

“No, it was my kouhai who invited her! Not me!”

“But she’s going too, right?”

“Well, it just happened that way…”

Yorka stared at me as if she wanted to say something. Seemingly exploding with jealousy, instead, she declared, “I’m going too!”

As it turned out, Asaki-san’s participation was the ‘good reason’ that Yorka needed.

Yorka decided to join the karaoke.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started