Plebian Translation

Watarabu V2 Interlude 1

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


While fiddling with my smartphone in front of the student guidance room, the door suddenly swung open. The person who rushed out was my classmate Arisaka Yorka aka Yoryor.

“Hey, Yoryor alone?”

“Miyauchi-san? What are you doing here?”

“I was thinking of consoling a friend feeling down, but it seems like it’s not needed. Is Sumisumi still in the middle of getting scolded?”

“Kisumi should reflect a bit more!” Yoryor pouted, visibly upset.

“You seem a bit moody. Was the whole relationship announcement thing bothering you that much?”

Despite valiantly accompanying her boyfriend to lend support, Yoryor ended up coming out alone.

“Not that it bothered me, but it’s just… awkward. Everyone knows Kisumi and I are dating.”

The poised girl suddenly appeared flustered. It was a charming contrast that would make anyone, regardless of gender, felt a flutter.

“Yoryor, you’re sneaky, you know? Everything you do is cute.”

“Huh, really?”

“Yeah, it’s nice. Your cool side is quite precious.” I warmly acknowledged the emotional side displayed by my beautiful friend.

“Hey, Miyauchi-san. Since we’re here, mind listening to something for a bit?”

Her initiating a conversation like this was unusual.

“Do we need to wait for Sumisumi?”

“Kisumi can go home alone today. He needs a bit of a reality check for getting too carried away.”

“Going home alone is a reality check…?”

For Yoryor, apparently not being able to walk home with your lover for just one day was tough. If she thought that’s a serious punishment, it spoke volumes about how smitten she was with Sumisumi.

“Oops? Is it too much? I unintentionally said no texting either, but…”

She was hopelessly infatuated.

“It’s not a big deal. Plus, you’re going to forgive him by tomorrow, right?”

“Uh, yeah. Somehow, I’ll manage to endure today.”

The school’s most beautiful girl was clearly disheartened.

“Oh no, it seems like you’re already having a tough time!” I cheekily retorted and used the oversized sleeves of my hoodie to emphasize the point. “Too soon! It’s too soon! You just came out of the student guidance room, and now you’re regretting it!? You acted on impulse just like when you dumped Sumisumi!”

As someone who played a part in reconciling the once-on-the-verge couple, I couldn’t help but tease.

“I know! I thought I should stay calm, but before I knew it, the words just slipped out…”

“I won’t be able to help you next time.” I deliberately pushed her away, making a half-hearted threat. Immediately, Yoryor’s expression changes dramatically, and she panicked.

“Okay, Miyauchi-san! I get it! I’ll need your advice later. Please!”

“It can’t be helped. Alright, let’s have a girls-only talk from now on.” I patted my small chest triumphantly. 

Yoryor’s joyous assets bounced lightly as she was feeling happy.

When we started to descend the stairs, Yoryor suddenly halted.

“What’s wrong?”

“I don’t know… it just feels like someone’s watching us.”

I turned around and scanned the hallway, but there’s no one. “Well, it’s you. Aren’t you always being watched by people?”

“It’s different this time. I don’t know, but it feels like something I sensed recently…”

The fate of a stunning girl who was destined to attract attention – her serious expression suggested she was try to recall something from her memory.

“If you can sense it, the gaze must be quite intense, huh?”

“Maybe it’s because I’m sensitive to people’s stares.”

“If you’re worried, should we go back and talk to the teacher?”

“No need to make a big deal out of it; I’m fine.” Even as she said that, she kept glancing around the hallway.

“If you ever have concerns, feel free to tell me. It might be easier to talk to another girl if you think it’s difficult with Sumisumi.”

“Yeah, thanks. I’m glad you’re here, Miyauchi-san.”

We headed towards the school entrance. While walking, Yoryor confided in me about her current feelings. “Since Kisumi casually mentioned we’re dating, there’s no need to hide it anymore, right?”

“Yeah.”

“S-so, I can now openly treat him as my boyfriend outside the art prep room. I… I might find it hard to resist the urge to touch him…”

“Your serious face made me think you had some big problem to discuss, but it turns out it’s a quite cute concern.” I chuckled involuntarily.

“Is this really such a trivial concern?”

“What I can say is worrying about being lovey-dovey all the time might be a bit much. Yoryor, you’re getting a bit too excited.”

“Yeah, true. I was about to fall into becoming one of those annoying, detestable couples.”

“You’re smiling so much. Isn’t it too late already?”

“Oh no! What should I do? What do you think, Miyauchi-san?” Yoryor covered her face with both hands, desperately trying to hide her blushing cheeks.

“Just do whatever you want, Yoryor ~”

“Don’t be disgusted with me. Don’t abandon me. Don’t give up on me. We’re friends, right?” She gripped my sleeve, seeking help.

“But you’re just infatuated,” I couldn’t help but laugh.

“It’s not true! I’m seriously troubled!”

“Ah, Sumisumi must be captivated by this massive contrast. It’s totally understandable.”

Well, who wouldn’t be captivated when a top-tier beauty relies on them?

“Don’t just accept it! My feelings are about to explode! Help!”

“I’m not one to meddle in the affairs of couples.”

“Miyauchi-san!”

Teasing Yoryor when she’s in distress was amusing. That’s why the current situation felt like a relief.

“…Seriously, it’s good that things settled back to normal.”

“Yeah. I won’t ever say we’re breaking up again. I don’t want Kisumi to get hurt.”

Yoryor seemed to have learned her lesson quite well. I later found out something surprising. After Yoryor sent a breakup message, immediately after, our classmate and a class representative, Hasekura Asaki, confessed to Sumisumi.

I had sensed that Asaki-chan was somewhat close to him, but I never expected her to confess. Her ability to sense the perfect timing for romance was truly commendable as a fellow girl. 

Furthermore, Yoryor, encountering such a situation and yet reclaiming her boyfriend through sheer skill, was quite remarkable.

“Ultimately, it’s the fault of the person who spread the weird rumors.”

“I honestly don’t care about finding the culprit.”

“Aren’t you angry, Yoryor?”

“Of course, I was furious at first. Someone invaded our privacy, spouted off on their own. But in the end, I think it deepened the bond between me and Kisumi.”

Yoryor’s profile, now composed, didn’t show the timid signs she had earlier.

“Oh, I forgot to tell Kisumi something.” As Yoryor changed into loafers, she froze while taking out her phone. “It’s forbidden to send messages today…”

“Isn’t it okay to contact him if it’s something important?”

“But then he won’t reflect on what he did. I’ll tell him tomorrow.”

“Really? A new girl might show up in front of Sumisumi during this time, you know,” I said it half-jokingly.

“Don’t scare me. We just announced our relationship this morning. There’s no way something like that would happen.”

“Yeah, you’re right.”


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started