Plebian Translation

Watarabu V2 Chapter 1 Part 2

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


2

With Yorka gone, I faced Kanzaki-sensei one-on-one.

“Even after all that fuss from Arisaka-san, she seems ready to forgive you quickly.”

“She’s always like that when we’re alone.”

“Just seeing you two flirting in front of me is already too much. What’s up with Arisaka-san’s behavior? Sena-san, are you really not used to romantic relationships?”

Kanzaki-sensei was still skeptical.

“If I were experienced in love, I wouldn’t let myself be tossed around like that by my girlfriend.”

“No matter how experienced a man is, anyone would find it challenging dealing with Arisaka-san.” Kanzaki-sensei asserted and continued. “Having romantic experience and genuinely caring for someone are two different things. Arisaka-san chose you because she felt your feelings were trustworthy.”

A wise statement. Those were words of an adult woman. I wonder, has Kanzaki-sensei gone through many love experiences?

“…Anyway, Sensei understands, right?”

“Observing Arisaka-san’s reactions, I don’t think your decision this time was hasty. I agree with that.”

“Then—”

“However! Personally, I’m not satisfied. Really! Such audacity!”

Correction. Her mood hadn’t improved at all. I was the class representative under Kanzaki-sensei last year too, but this was the first time I had seen her reveal so much emotion.

“…Didn’t sit well with you?”

“It didn’t. I’m dissatisfied. Unsatisfied.” Kanzaki-sensei, usually composed and indifferent, frowned distinctly.

“Can you forgive me?”

“Frankly, it’s not uncommon for high schoolers to stay out late. It’s that age. However, it could have been a big deal if it went slightly wrong. Please don’t misjudge that. Maintain a modest relationship!”

“I’ll keep that in mind! I’m sorry!” I straightened my back and clearly expressed my remorse.

“…I generally trust you, Sena-san. The one who’s more unpredictable is Arisaka-san. She’s too passionate and carefree when it comes to her boyfriend. Did she always have that much vigor?”

“As expected of a two-year consecutive homeroom teacher. You really understand Yorka well.”

I agreed with Kanzaki-sensei’s accurate assessment of Yorka.

“The power of love is a fearsome thing. It can draw out such initiative from Arisaka-san.”

“Yorka herself has always been capable. In a way, she just unleashed her true potential.”

“A maiden in love is invincible, isn’t she? Though a bit on the reckless side.”

Kanzaki-sensei looked impressed yet somewhat frustrated.

“Do you understand her that well?”

“If you stand on the class podium every day, you naturally notice changes in students. She’s been changing since last year when you started visiting the art prep room. Now, she’s a completely different person.”

“Is she that different? I think she’s the same in the classroom.”

“That girl, whenever she has free time, her eyes are always following you, Sena-san,” As if recalling that scene, Kanzaki-sensei smiled faintly. “Jealousy is cute. She felt cautious that you and a female teacher would be alone, so she came along.”

“What happens to my position when I get double-scolded?”

“That’s your own fault.”

“…By the way, Sensei, when did you realize that Yorka and I were dating?”

“I became certain during the sports festival. I watched your impressive last-minute comeback shot in response to her cheering—it’s enough to make anyone’s heart race, not just Arisaka-san’s.”

“Sensei, did you secretly cheer and feel your heart race too?”

When she noticed my grin, she tried to brush it off with an indifferent attitude. “I misspoke. Forget about it.”

“If it brought you joy, then my injury was worth it.”

“It’s those aspects of yours that worry me, Sena-san. You tend to underestimate your own pain and struggles.” Kanzaki-sensei muttered with a somewhat lonely expression.

“…Is that the real reason you called me out today?”

I had a hunch.

“One of your strengths is the ability to accurately imagine others’ feelings. It’s true that I’ve entrusted you with the class representative role because I’ve seen your skill in taking care of things. However, be careful not to get too close, to the point of taking on others’ pain as your own.”

“Are you saying I empathize too much?”

“Once you find out, it’s hard for you to ignore. You desperately try to resolve things and sometimes don’t mind getting hurt in the process. That’s what worries me.”

I presumed Sensei was referring to the incident from last summer.

Back then, as a member of the basketball team, I quit due to a fight that broke out during a practice match against another school. In order to protect my teammate, Nanamura Ryū, I protested. I had no regrets.

I couldn’t accept letting his talent be crushed by jealousy and petty quarrels.

However, it seemed Kanzaki-sensei was still bothered that she couldn’t overturn my dismissal from the team.

“I’ll handle it. Thank you for your concern.” I imprinted her words in my heart.

“Please do. Just a reminder to be mindful. Unconscious kindness can sometimes backfire. Otherwise, Arisaka-san might get jealous again.”

With that unexpected comment, I stumbled over my words. “Uh…”

“…Sena-san, don’t tell me you’ve already experienced it?”

The teacher squinted her eyes. I hastily made my escape from the student guidance room.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started