Plebian Translation

OtakuZero V2 Chapter 3 Part 2

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


July 2nd, Sunday.

It was finally Momoi’s birthday. After having an early lunch, Kotomi and I left the house thirty minutes before the meeting time.

The weather was clear, better than rain, but the temperature difference from the air-conditioned room earlier was intense. Today marked the hottest day of the year so far, and the harsh sunlight threatened to roast us alive.

While walking, we tried to evade the glaring sun and found ourselves hunching over.

It would be dangerous for both of us if we kept our heads down…

Reluctantly, I lifted my face. As I was wiping the sweat off my chin and fanning my shirt’s neckline, I could hear Kotomi whimpering beside me.

“Mm, what should I do?”,  “Uhh, am I gonna be okay?”

I started to worry if she would collapse.

“Should we go back and grab a hat?” I suggested.

Turning back seemed like a hassle, but if Kotomi agreed, I was willing. Even though her middle school hat would probably feel tight, it was better than enduring direct sunlight.

“It’s okay. Hats don’t suit me.”

“Nobody looks bad in a hat.”

“I do. Putting on a hat just feels weird.”

“It’s just because you’re not used to it. If you don’t have one, borrow from Mom or something.”

“No, I have one. It’s a cap with a Rin-chan patch.”

“I don’t know who Rin-chan is, but wear that if you have it. Otherwise, you would collapse before we reach the café.”

The café was about a 15-minute walk from here. That was fine for me, but for Kotomi, who tended to stay indoors, it would be a harsh trip.

The party started at 1pm. Even if we turned back now, we’d easily make it on time. We could even call a taxi if needed.

“I can bear the sun, but… maybe I should go back to change my clothes?”

“Are you sweating that much?”

“Not that,” Kotomi looked up at me uncertainly, “Isn’t this outfit… a bit too casual for Momoi-san’s birthday?” 

She wore a white T-shirt on top and a loose white pleated skirt below. Her feet were clad in sandals, and she carried a backpack with her favorite character’s badge.

“You look fresh and summery. It’s a nice look.”

“But I’ve been wearing this for like three years, so it’s a bit worn out… Maybe I should have asked Mom to borrow a dress?”  

“You’re worrying too much. It’s not a formal party, everyone’s just coming in their usual clothes.”  

“Really?”  

“Yeah. Just think about it. Do you honestly believe the kind-hearted Momoi would find it rude just because your clothes is a bit worn out?”  

“…I guess not.”  

“Exactly. So just celebrate Momoi’s birthday with confidence. And use this opportunity to get along with Kotobuki and Aoki too.”

In the past, Kotomi would have shaken her head vehemently and rejected the idea with a firm “No way!”, but perhaps after becoming friends with Momoi and getting to know Takase, she realized that courage could change something. Despite her lack of confidence, she didn’t shake her head this time.  

Still, she seemed anxious.  

“But… I don’t know what to talk about.”  

“We’re all students from the same school. If you stick to school-related topics, you’ll have common ground. How about asking about exams, like ‘how’s your studying going?’ or ‘what was your swim time?’ and then expand the conversation from there?”

As I presented concrete suggestions, Kotomi’s face showed a hint of determination, as if she could imagine the conversation flowing smoothly.  

“I’ll try my best to talk to them.”  

“That’s the spirit. You’re Momoi’s friend too, so they’ll also probably want to get along with you.”  

After I encouraged her, Kotomi’s eyes sparkled with hope. Though she still seemed hot, her steps were lighter because her worries had been lifted.

Before long, we spotted Koigishi Station. We went around to the back, following the residential road until we reached the café.  

“Huh? Looks like they’re closed.”  

“Sundays are their regular holidays.”  

“Private event, maybe?”  

“Yeah, probably.”  

The door and windows were covered with curtains, and a closed sign hung outside to prevent customers from entering by mistake. I grabbed the doorknob and the door opened smoothly.

“Oh, the Fujisaki twins are the first ones here!”  

Kotobuki greeted us excitedly. Though we couldn’t see below the counter, she was obviously wearing a white T-shirt. Kotomi breathed a sigh of relief, seemingly reassured by her casual attire.  

“We’re from the same neighborhood. Is there anything we can help you with?”

“Not really. Just relax and make yourselves comfortable. Oh, and the table is over there.”

A six-seater table was already prepared. Since the seating arrangement wasn’t specified, I sat in the middle to increase the chances of being next to Takase. Kotomi placed her backpack under the table and took a seat opposite me.

“Hey Kotobuki, what about the cake?”

“We’ve got Maho’s favorite fruit cake ready.”

“I see. How much should I chip in?”

“The three of us have already split the bill. It’s too much hassle to calculate now, so just enjoy the cake.”

“It doesn’t feel right to eat for free.”

“You’re surprisingly earnest, despite your appearance. What about you, Fujisaki sister?”

“Um… I appreciate it because I’m a bit tight on pocket money now…”

“Hahaha, your sister is straightforward. That’s right, you should just accept kindness graciously. And if you still feel bad, you can buy some coffee beans or something.”

“It’s no trouble. The coffee here is really good.”

“I’m glad you think so. None of my friends bother to drink coffee here. What about you, Fujisaki sister?”

“M-Me? I’m not a fan of black coffee, but I can drink it with milk…”

“Ah, so you can drink it!”

Upon hearing the cheerful response, Kotomi’s tense expression softened.

As someone who often served customers, Kotobuki had great social skills. With her around, she could keep the conversation flowing to accommodate Kotomi.

“By the way, Kotomi, the coffee you always drink is from here.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. Mom uses this place for her volleyball team gatherings and brings some back as souvenirs.”

“Oh, does your mom play volleyball, Fujisaki? Then I might have met her.”

“How did that happen?”

“We had a practice match back in middle school. What’s your mom like?”

“Kotomi, can you describe her?”

When I prompted her, Kotomi nodded and began speaking;

“She’s about this tall, with hair like this shade of brown, and she has a mole here…”

She added gestures to illustrate the visual.

While I’d describe her as “about 172 centimeters tall, with short brown hair and a mole below her lip,” Kotomi’s description evoked a clearer image. 

Takase smiled, seemingly understanding the portrayal, “Ah, her.”

“Her spikes were so sharp that it scared the juniors. Is your mom, like, a former volleyball player or something?”

“I’m not sure about that, but she’s good at sports in general.”

“Oh, really? Then, are you and Fujisaki good at sports too?”

“Haru-nii inherited the athletic genes, but I take after my dad… My swimming times haven’t improved at all… Oh, Kotobuki-san, how about your swimming time?”

Kotomi deployed my advice here. Kotobuki was momentarily taken aback by the sudden question, but soon flashed a proud smile and shared her time for the 25-meter swim.

And just at that moment, when Kotomi was astonished by Kotobuki’s impressive time…

“Uhhhh…”

Approaching us with a zombie-like groan was Aoki. She wore an off-shoulder white dress with a black tank top underneath.

Aoki staggered over and plopped down next to Kotomi before collapsing onto the table. She weakly raised her hand and let out a feeble voice.

“I want barley tea…”

“Sure thing. Would iced coffee be good for you two?”

After we nodded, Kotobuki swiftly prepared drinks for everyone. Then she placed the glasses on the table and sat down next to Kotomi.

Kotomi looked a bit nervous being sandwiched between the two, but also appeared happy to have been chosen.

I was happy too. With this seating arrangement, I was guaranteed to sit next to Takase. I’d chat up a storm and deepen our bond!

As I made this resolution, in the meantime, Aoki had already gulped down her barley tea.

“Wow, you drink fast.”

“It felt like hell out there. I’ve been studying for exams in the comfortable room, so I thought I’d lose my mind from the temperature difference.”

Kotomi, who was stirring her iced coffee with a straw, suddenly turned to Aoki and tentatively started a conversation.

“Aoki-san, um… How’s your studying going?”

She was really taking my advice to heart!

“It’s not going smoothly at all. I feel like my head’s going to explode even when I’m at home.”

“I get that…”

“Sometimes I feel like crying. It’s all too difficult…”

“I get that…”

“It’s just too much material to cover, and I don’t even know where to start…”

“Same here…”

“I get that…”

All three of them apparenty struggled with studying, their faces clouding with gloom.

“Sorry to keep you waiting!”

A bright voice cut through the somber atmosphere of the café.

It was Takase. She wore a form-fitting dress and carried a tote bag in her hand.

“Phew, it’s hot outside…”

Coincidentally, Momoi was with her, sporting a blouse and a long skirt. She was also carrying a large bag—probably for taking home presents.

“Ahh, it’s scorching today, isn’t it? Feels like peak summer! Hey, Ran-chan, I want orange juice!”

“I’ll go for some iced tea… with less ice, please?”

“Got it.”

As Kotobuki headed toward the counter, Takase took the seat on my right, and Momoi sat on my left. As soon as I was sandwiched between the two girls, a pleasantly fragrant scent wafted over. Even though they were both sweating, they both smelled of shampoo and soap…

“Here you go, orange juice and iced tea.”

“Yay, thanks!”

They both took their glasses and drank heartily. Then, as they let out sighs of contentment, Kotobuki brought over the fruit cake.

It had candles shaped like ‘1’ and ‘7,’ and the words ‘Happy Birthday Maho‘ written on a white chocolate plate.

“Whoa, this looks delicious! Thanks for the lovely cake!”

“You’re welcome! Oh, right, take this!”

Takase pulled out a sash from her tote bag with the words ‘Today’s Star‘ written on it.

Momoi narrowed her eyes nostalgically.

“The last time I saw this was two months ago… Time really flies, doesn’t it? Oh, there’s still a coffee stain here.”

“Ah, the coffee spraying incident!”

“I made sure to print out the photo of Ran spitting out coffee.”

“Don’t print embarrassing stuff like that! And seriously, don’t make weird faces when someone’s drinking coffee…”

“It’s the photographer’s duty to make the subject laugh.”

Their reminiscing revealed their close bond. It was heartwarming, but I couldn’t help feeling a bit left out of the conversation. Then Takase showed me a smile and brought me back in.

“Fujisaki-kun, do you want the sash too?”

“I’d love to. Will you celebrate with us?”

“Of course! We’ll both celebrate with you!”

Yes! I’d get to spend my birthday with Takase! It wouldn’t have been like this if it were just me. I was really glad Kotomi had became friends with Takase! I couldn’t wait for that day!

“When are both your birthday?”

“March 3rd.”

“Whoa, it’s on Hinamatsuri (Doll’s Day)! That’s cool. Let’s see, March 3rd is…”

“It’s on a Sunday.”

“You knew that instantly, Maho-chi?! You’re like a calendar genius!”

“Of course. Because he’s Maho—”

*Cough cough!*

Takase coughed deliberately, casting glances at Kotomi and shaking her head. She probably was hinting that the fact Momoi and I were dating was a secret from Kotomi.

“Maho’s close with the Fujisaki twins, after all.”

Getting the message across, Kotobuki rephrased it.

“Anyway, if it’s Sunday, we can have the place to ourselves.”

“Yeah, Kotomi. Make sure to clear your schedule.”

“Yeah. I’ll definitely clear it!”

Kotomi seemed excited for that day. She must have been really happy, as she inputted the date into her phone’s calendar.

Meanwhile, Momoi put on the sash, flashed a peace sign in front of the cake, and had Aoki take a picture.

“I want be in on the photo too!”

“Me too!”

“I-I want to be in the photo too…!”

They gathered behind Momoi, and Aoki took the photo.

“Do you want to take one with just the girls?”

“You’re thoughtful. Let’s take it since we’re here.”

“Then please.”

I accepted the camera from Aoki and took a group photo from behind the counter. I handed the camera back to Aoki, who checked the photo on the spot and smiled with satisfaction. Looks like it turned out well.

“Aoi-chan, send me the photo later, okay?”

“I’ll send it after transferring it to my phone. I’ll send it to Fujisaki-san too, can you give me your contact info?”

“Y-yeah! I’ll give it to you!”

“Would you like to exchange contact with me as well?”

“O-Of course!”

Kotomi looked ecstatic. After exchanging contacts, she grinned while looking at her address book.

The first step was crucial in situations like this. If too much time passed, it would get harder to send a message later. Maybe I should advise Kotomi to at least send a greeting tonight.

While thinking about that, Kotobuki lit the number candles. Everyone took their seats, and Takase played music from her phone. We sang the birthday song to the beat of the music, clapping and cheering for the birthday girl. Momoi happily thanked everyone and blew out the candles.

Kotobuki cut the cake into slices and distributed them onto plates. As everyone indulged in the cake, happy voices with expressions like “Delicious!” and “Amazing!” filled the air.

“It’s present time!”

Kotobuki announced this just after we finished eating the cake. 

“Yay!” Takase cheered, while Momoi applauded, saying, “I’ve been waiting for this!” Aoki captured the moment in a photo, and Kotomi also held up her phone to preserve the memory. 

Meanwhile, Kotobuki walked to the counter and returned with her present.

“Here’s mine!”

It was a sleek black case, resembling a recorder case but… a bit shorter? What could be inside?

“Aww, it’s adorable!”

The stuff that came out of the case was a fan. It was a silk fan with a depiction of fireworks, exuding a sense of elegance.

“Remember how hot it was at last year’s summer festival?”

“Oh, I remember. My handheld fan’s batteries died at the worst moment.”

“Well, you don’t need batteries for a fan. Use this to stay cool this year!”

“Thank you! I’ll treasure it!”

With a smile, Momoi carefully returned the fan to its case and stowed it away in her bag.

“And from me! Ta-da!”

Takase proudly pulled out a large gift bag. Momoi’s eyes sparkled with excitement as she opened it, revealing an apron.

“Wow, it’s so cute!”

The apron had little dogs peeking out of the pockets. Momoi stood up and immediately put it on.

“How does it look?”

“It suits you, Momoi-san!”

“Maho always looks good in anything.”

“It’s worth taking pictures of.”

“I made a good choice, didn’t I? I heard you’ve been cooking more lately, Maho-chi.”

“Thanks to this apron, I can’t wait to cook while wearing this!”

With cheerful voices, Momoi neatly folded the apron she took off, placed it back into the gift bag, and tucked it into her own bag.

“My present is a smartphone stand,” Aoki announced, presenting a cat-shaped stand with one paw raised.

“Thank you very much, Aoi-chan! I’ll start using it right away!” 

“By the way, mine is matching with yours.”

“You must really love cats! I’d like to come over and pet your cat again sometime.”

“You’re always welcome.”

With a pleasant atmosphere, the three finished giving the gifts. Now it was just us twins left, and we both had anime merchandise as presents.

We had agreed to come out as otaku, but I wonder if Momoi was still resolute? Maybe it was a good idea to have an escape plan just in case she wavered.

“Next up is me. Kotomi, pass me the bag.”

Kotomi took out a small gift bag from her backpack and slid it over to me across the table.

“Here you go, my present to you,” I said, handing it to Momoi.

“Thanks, Haruto-kun. I wonder what’s inside…” Momoi’s expression tensed slightly, probably convinced it was something anime-related although I never told her what it was.

“I might have tied the string too tight, so feel free to open it slowly later.”

Of course, I hadn’t tied it tightly at all. It was just an excuse in case Momoi felt hesitant.

Nevertheless, despite her tense expression, Momoi reached the string with determination. She carefully untied it and pulled out a metal lighter and stand. Aoki and the others looked surprised.

“That’s a cool choice.”

“Can minors even buy lighters?” 

“I think this is more for display. Look, it comes with a stand.”

“As Takase said, this is for display. It’s character from the Driste anime, MioMio. I’m a big fan of this anime!”

“I’m also an otaku, that’s why I chose an anime character as a present!” Kotomi chimed in, perhaps thinking it would be easier for Momoi to confess if she had more friends. 

Kotomi took out something from her bag without waiting for Momoi’s reaction and handed it to her.

Momoi set the lighter she was holding on the table and began to unwrap the present from Kotomi. From it, she pulled out plushies of “Hot Blood-chan” and “Bit Hot-chan.”

Suddenly, Takase tilted her head in confusion. 

“Isn’t that the plushies Fujisaki-kun was making the other day?” 

“Yeah, it was. Actually, it was a present from Kotomi to Momoi,” I explained. 

“I learned how to sew from Haru-nii, so I’m pretty confident I did well!” Kotomi added, her expression a mix of anticipation and anxiety as she watched Momoi’s reaction. When their eyes met, Momoi’s tense expression softened. 

“Thank you, Haruto-kun, Kotomi-san. I… I love anime, so I’m really happy,” said Momoi, her voice carrying a hint of nervousness despite her smile.

“Huh, I didn’t know you were into anime, Maho. Did everyone else know?”

“That’s news to me. What about you, Aoi?” 

“If I knew, I would’ve gone with an anime-themed stand.”

“Yeah, same here. If I looked hard enough, I could find anime-themed aprons.”

“Or even a fan. Geez, why didn’t you say anything?” 

Momoi’s eyes widened slightly at the reactions of the three. Tentatively, she asked, “You don’t think it’s strange? Aren’t you surprised or think it doesn’t suit me? Or that I should stop my otaku hobbies?”

She had mentioned before how girls used to make fun of otaku boys back in middle school. That’s why she had kept it a secret until today, but there was no sign of disgust on their faces. They didn’t seem surprised or confused; they simply accepted it calmly.

Well, I knew that much. There wouldn’t be anyone here to criticize someone else’s hobbies like that.

“I don’t think that. And besides, I watch anime too.”

But I never would’ve guessed there’d be another anime fan here.

“Ran-chan watches anime too!?” 

“W-What are you watching!?”

Caught off guard by their enthusiasm, Kotobuki stuttered as she replied, “I-I don’t watch it that much… but a friend recommended it to me. I watched ‘Spike Girls‘ the other day.”

Excited cheers erupted.

“I know that one! I watched it too! It’s a sports anime disguised as a moe anime!”

“It’s a masterpiece with the three pillars of friendship, effort, and victory! I’ve watched it three times all the way through!”

“I’ve replayed episode eight on repeat!”

“That’s the night before the practice match, right? The episode where Chiyo-chan and Ichigo-chan, who had been at odds, deepen their friendship! …Ah, just thinking about it makes me want to cry.”

“Oh, the handshake scene. Yeah, that definitely hit me right in the feels.”

“Do you two know about ‘Doomsday Camera‘?” 

As soon as Aoki brought it up, the two of them lit up.

“Aoki-san, you know about ‘Doomsday Camera‘!? Cool!”

“It’s a hidden gem among classics! It got buried under the sequels of popular series, but depending on the timing, it could have been a hit! I still regret not following it in real-time!”

“Me too! It would have been so much fun to speculate every week if we watched it live!”

“The foreshadowing in the first episode was mind-blowing!”

“The broken camera in the ruins, right?”

“I got goosebumps when the foreshadowing was revealed!”

“Right! Just remembering it now gives me goosebumps too!”

Momoi and the others were getting excited talking about anime. For the record, I had no idea about the titles they mentioned. I’d be in trouble if they kept talking about this anime. 

But staying silent would be too noticeable. Maybe I should try to blend in by bringing up an anime topic I knew.

When I pondered this, I suddenly noticed something. I didn’t hear Takase’s voice. Takase, who had normally outspoken, was quiet. That meant she couldn’t keep up with the conversation.

“Do you watch anime or read manga, Takase?”

I asked softly, and Takase furrowed her eyebrows, smiling awkwardly.

“I actually don’t… My family has always been into foreign dramas, so I’ve been hooked on those since I was a kid.”

“What kind of dramas do you watch?”

“Stuff like ‘Victoria Sisters‘ and ‘Pretty Jessie‘.”

She said it with a hint of uncertainty, as if she wasn’t sure if I’d know them. But I was familiar with both titles she mentioned.

“Do you like comedy success stories?” I guessed the genre, and Takase’s eyes widened in surprise.

Apparently feeling left out of the anime conversation, she had looked somewhat lonely, but now her face lit up.

“You’ve seen them too, Fujisaki-kun?”

“Back in middle school. I’m not really knowledgeable, but I’ve watched quite a few.”

“Like what?”

“You know ‘John & Jane’?”

“I know! It’s my favorite!”

“That one’s hilarious, right?”

“Totally! The way the plain couple becomes more and more charismatic due to misunderstandings around them! Their cold relationship melts away, and it just makes you feel good watching it!”

“Yeah. If you like ‘John & Jane,’ you’d probably enjoy ‘Instant Family‘ too.”

“Wow, our tastes match so well! I couldn’t stop binge-watching it because I was so hooked!”

“Just one more episode, just one more— and then it’s the whole season!”

Who would’ve thought I’d have such a lively conversation with Takase! Thank goodness I got into watching foreign dramas! I needed to thank Ishiyama for recommending them!

As I basked in the happiness of our conversation, I glanced at my sister, who was talking animatedly. 

Kotobuki skillfully kept up with the flow of conversation, albeit feeling a bit overwhelmed, while Aoki showed her phone to Kotomi, saying, “This anime?” “Yes, that’s it!” “It does look interesting. I’ll give it a try.” “Let me know your thoughts later,” and so on.

And as for Momoi… she was looking at me with furrowed eyebrows.

“Something wrong?”

“You looked like you were having so much fun, I was just curious about what you’re talking about.”

“We were discussing foreign dramas.”

“Sorry, Maho-chi. I’m not well-versed in anime, so I had Fujisaki-kun to keep me company.”

“No worries. It’s fine, Naru-chan, you like foreign dramas after all. How much do you know about them, Haruto-kun? As much as anime…?”

“I know more about anime.”

I only knew about eight foreign dramas, but I knew over twice that number of anime. I had been studying up on topics to discuss for our otaku activities.

Momoi was a friend. And I enjoyed talking to my friends. As long as I was able to keep up, I could have fun talking about anime.

Just as Kotomi started talking about Driste,  I thought it wouldn’t be bad to join in their conversation, but…

“Since this is a great opportunity, I’m going to talk with Takase about foreign dramas foday.”

I didn’t want Takase to feel left out without someone to talk to.

“Feel free to indulge in anime talk over there.”

“Thanks. I’ll do that, then.”

With that, Momoi joined Kotomi and the others in their anime discussion. However…  perhaps feeling concerned about Takase, she would occasionally glance at our direction with an anxious face.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started