Plebian Translation

Watarabu V1 Chapter 11 Part 1

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editors: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


Chapter 11: That Love Stands Out Too Much

It was the Monday after the weekend when Yorka stayed over at my place.

Walking to school, I felt peculiar gazes from those around me. It was like everyone was staring. When I turned around, a fellow second-year student quickly averted their eyes. This happened several times.

“What’s going on?”

After I changed into my indoor shoes and headed toward my classroom, I was approached by two unfamiliar third-year girls.

“Hey, are you Sena-kun from the second year?”

“Yeah, that’s me,” I replied cautiously.

The two girls exchanged curious glances and one of them straightforwardly asked;

“──Is it true you’re dating Arisaka-san?”

“Eh? Why would you ask such a thing, Senpai?”

I immediately pretended to be a kind underclassman and asked in a cheerful tone, as if I was very surprised.

My acting seemed to have its desired effect. They were visibly disappointed.

“There’s a rumor that someone saw Arisaka-san being seen off by you at the station on Saturday morning. Did you really spend the night out?”

“Wait, Arisaka-san, the Arisaka Yorka in my class?” I feigned surprise, acting like this was unrelated to me.

“Oh, is it someone else?”

“Did Senpai witness it firsthand?”

“Not really, but…”

I see. Someone must have seen us parting ways at the station, and by this morning, the rumor had spread like wildfire in this age of social media.

“Is there any evidence for this rumor?”

“I don’t know. No photos or anything; it’s just the rumors reached us.”

At least I could be relieved that there were no covertly taken photos.

“So, are they really sure it’s me and Arisaka-san? And do you seriously believe we’re dating?” With a touch of self-deprecation, I countered the circulating rumors.

The two third-year girls exchanged glances again, as if silently agreeing, “Yeah, right.” They seemed to accept the improbability of such an odd couple.

“Come to think of it, is it really Arisaka-san? Could they have mistaken her for someone else who looks similar?”

“Haha, maybe. We apologize for asking weird questions.”

The third-year girls quickly walked away from me.

I shed the mask of a confused underclassman approached by unfamiliar seniors and pondered the situation.

Although I managed to divert the attention of those who didn’t witness directly, explaining to every student who heard the rumor wasn’t feasible. Time, place, and not just Yorka but even I had been identified. Someone had undoubtedly seen the scene.

The saying “walls have ears” was so true.

Everyone was keenly interested in other people’s romances. Without photographic evidence, it wasn’t confirmed information but rather a rumor. Nevertheless, it probably had spread extensively throughout the school.

After all, it was the first gossip related to Arisaka Yorka.

“I hope Yorka is okay.”

My primary concern was Yorka. Insignificant types like me already had low visibility within the school, making it easier to deflect rumors.

However, for someone as strikingly beautiful as Yorka, mistaking her was a challenge. Her beauty was on a different level than your average.

The more people heard this, the more likely they were to omit details and add speculation. This was the mechanism behind rumors. Baseless nonsense spread from mouth to mouth as if it were a matter of fact.

Soon enough, my unremarkable existence would be cast aside, and the sole rumor would be Yorka spending the morning with a guy.

“Damn, I was so careless.”

While climbing the stairs, I muttered under my breath.

On that day, I wasn’t exactly my usual self. Well, who would be after spending the night with a girl you liked? I couldn’t just go about my day as if nothing happened.

Yorka initially declined my offer to see her off, but I couldn’t bear to part ways, so I used “strolling in the morning” as an excuse and walked with her to the station.

It was a fact that Arisaka Yorka had stayed out overnight. While the reality was far from scandalous, with enough material to fuel gossip, perception was everything.

“…It’s my fault.”

When I entered the classroom, I felt probing glances from all directions. Yorka hadn’t arrived yet. I took my seat and discreetly sent a message to Yorka.

‘Yorka, I’m sorry. This is my fault. Apparently, someone saw us at the station on Saturday morning. People might be staring, but just ignore them like always. It’s just a passing rumor. Don’t worry. If you need anything, let me know.’

The message meant to encourage Yorka ended up sounding more like a prayer from me. I sent it and realized I forgot to add a line break.

I scanned the classroom. The classmates I should be familiar with suddenly seemed intimidating.

“Is it really Sena-kun?”

“Maybe a misunderstanding?”

“They’re not a good match, right?”

“Such an odd couple.”

“But Arisaka-san was cheering for him at the sports festival.”

“Could it be a coincidence?”

“Seriously, why would those two date?”

“Arisaka-san could choose anyone cool; it’s a pity.”

What a hassle.

Strangely, everyone’s chatter seemed unusually loud. For them, it was just casual conversation—no ill intent behind the words. But as the one involved, I couldn’t help but feel uncomfortable.

──This must be Yorka’s daily life.

A life constantly under the scrutiny of others was truly suffocating. Especially for someone like Yorka, who didn’t seek attention, it was nothing short of living hell.

After a while, the other party involved made an appearance in the classroom. The beauty whose expressions had vanished as if the once joyful sleepover was a lie.

Clad in an impenetrable cloak of thorns, the displeasure of the school’s most beautiful girl ruthlessly dominated the surroundings. She didn’t even spare me a glance, acting as if indifferent, as if unrelated.

Then, Kanzaki-sensei took the podium, and the morning homeroom began.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started