Plebian Translation

OtakuZero V2 Chapter 1 Part 4

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


And so, five minutes before our meeting, I strolled down the residential road behind the Koigishi station under the clear sky. As the humid air clung to my skin as I walked, a cozy café came into view across the street.

The exterior hinted at a combination of a shop on the first floor and a residence on the second. Trendy potted plants lined beneath the eaves, and standing next to them was a tall girl.

It was Kotobuki. Clad in a white T-shirt and jeans, she fanned herself against the heat. I jogged over to her to avoid keeping her waiting.

“Sorry, did you wait long?”

“I just got here.”

“That’s good. Let’s head in.”

“About that, the café is packed today. All the tables are taken so we’ll be sewing in my room.”

“Is it okay for me to go to your room?”

Her tomboyish demeanor and boyish attire aside, Kotobuki was still a girl. I hadn’t seen her interacting much with guys since middle school. And considering the resistance some girls have to let the opposite gender into their rooms, I was hesitant.

“I’m not keen on guys entering, but I’ll make an exception for you here.”

“Because we went to the same middle school?”

“Not really, it’s because you’re Maho’s boyfriend. With such a cute girlfriend, you won’t get any weird ideas in my room.”

With a dismissive smile, she gestured for me to follow her toward the back. 

I followed Kotobuki through the back door. The lively voices from the café echoed as we ascended the stairs and were directed to the corner room.

It was about ten tatami mats in size with a wooden floor. A simple room with a bed, a desk, a bookshelf, and a table. At the center of the room sat an angel.

“Oh, you’re here!”

Takase, who had been tapping away on her phone, showed a bright smile. It seemed like she had come directly from the shopping mall, as she was still in her school uniform.

When I was entranced by her adorable smile, Takase beckoned me over.

“Come on, don’t just stand there. Sit down. No need to be shy!”

“You act like this is your room.”

“Well, I’ve visited many times. It’s practically my room.”

“My room, actually.” Kotobuki chuckled at Takase’s jest and said, “Feel free to sit anywhere.”

Around a square table, there was a half-empty glass on Takase’s side. The available spaces were by the desk and the bookshelf side. Since my distance to Takase would be the same no matter where I sat, I took a seat by the bookshelf.

“I’ll bring you something to drink, what would you like?”

There was orange juice in Takase’s hand, so Kotobuki must be asking me.

“Can I get an iced coffee?”

“Sure thing. I’ll throw in some cake too. It’s a bit sad to just have coffee, right?”

“Thanks!”

“Okay. Narumi, what kind of cake would you like?”

“I’ll take your recommendation, whatever that is!”

“Got it.”

Kotobuki exited the room, leaving Takase and I alone. Suddenly Takase leaned in as if wanting to share a secret. The abrupt proximity made my face heat up.

Even though she likely sweated during club activities, she smells really good…

“How’s it been with Maho-chi lately?”

“W-what do you mean?”

“I mean… kissing. Have you guys been kissing?”

Before I had been pretending to date Momoi, she initially planned to weave a web of lies to get through without introducing her nonexistent boyfriend to her friends. In the process, she created fictional scenarios like being called ‘Honey’ by her lover and engaging in PDA even in public. This led to a situation where I had to kiss Momoi on the cheek for the sake of consistency.

Momoi wasn’t here now, so there was no need for a kiss, but I had to maintain the illusion of our lovey-dovey relationship.

“We’re kissing a lot.”

“R-really? Good job.”

Though she asked herself, Takase blushed faintly, perhaps embarrassed.

“Why are you asking me, though?”

“It’s kind of awkward to ask Maho-chi directly.”

“Aren’t you two best friends?”

“We are, but it’s still hard to ask her. When I do, she dodges the question.”

“She dodges it?”

“Yeah, she used to talk about kissing and hugging before. But ever since she introduced you, she started quickly changing the subject with ‘We’re having a good time.’”

Maybe it became awkward for her to maintain the lovey-dovey act once she introduced me, considering it wasn’t just a made-up story anymore. Or maybe she was preparing for a breakup.

The reason for the breakup would be a difference in values, and we had decided to split amicably. In this scenario, the story would be about transitioning from lovers to friends. Perhaps Momo was holding back from sharing romantic episodes.

If that was the case, maybe I should ease off on the lovey-dovey act as well…

“That’s why I thought things haven’t been going well lately, I’m worried…”

The girl I liked looked anxious. Although we hadn’t set a specific date for the breakup, I needed to maintain our close relationship to ease Takase’s worries.

“Don’t worry, we’re doing fine.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. It’s just that, as you spend more time together, the initial excitement fades. Even if it looks like we’re affectionate to others, the feeling of being lovey-dovey diminishes. It’s not boredom, but it becomes hard to express it as anything other than ‘we’re having a good time.’”

“Is that how it is?”

“That’s how it is. You’ll understand when you’re in a relationship. Any plans for that?”

“Hmm, I’m not interested in romance right now. I want to focus on my club activities.”

Phew. It seemed like I could avoid a scenario where Takase got a boyfriend while I was dating Momoi. 

Now, I should also try to understand her taste in guys. Fortunately, the conversation was steering toward love topics, so it wouldn’t be unnatural to ask.

“By the way, what kind of guys do you like, Takase?”

“I’ve never really thought about it… but someone kind, cheerful, who values family, I guess.”

“What about physical appearance?”

“Appearance, huh… someone tall and with a toned body would be cool.”

I see. A guy who’s tall and has a toned body…

“…That’s me.”

I blurted out without thinking. Takase laughed amusingly.

“Haha, that’s right. My type is you, Fujisaki-kun.”

“Whoa, I never expected to be your type, Takase.”

I replied casually, but I was secretly excited. As I was suppressing the urge to grin, Takase’s expression changed from a smile to a more serious one.

“But, you won’t tell anyone about what I just said, right? It would make Maho-chi uneasy if she hears it.”

“I know. I’ll keep it a secret.”

Of course, Momoi and I weren’t really dating. Even if she knew Takase’s preferences, she wouldn’t feel uneasy or jealous.

“Sorry to keep you waiting.”

Kotobuki returned. Seeing the cakes on the tray, Takase applauded, saying, “I’ve been waiting for this!”

“Here you go, Narumi, the cheesecake.”

“Yay! Thanks, Ran-chan!”

“And Fujisaki, shortcake, and a mandheling.”

“What’s mandheling?”

“It’s a strong coffee. I thought the bitterness would go well with cake.”

“That’s the best combination!”

I took the coffee and shortcake. She also provided milk and sugar, but I’d enjoy it black for now.

I sipped the coffee from the cold glass, and as it touched my lips, a robust bitterness spreads. The aroma was intense, as if putting me in a coffee-drinking mood. The aftertaste was bitter which resulted in enhancing the sweetness of the cake.

It was the perfect combination, so I decided to stick with a black coffee.

“Delicious! Ran-chan’s cakes are the best!”

“I’m glad you like them.”

“I want to marry Ran-chan and have unlimited cake everyday!”

Thank goodness Kotobuki was a girl. She was tall and toned, if she were a guy, she’d be my strongest rival.

“Now, shall we begin?”

As we enjoyed coffee and cake, Kotobuki brought up the main topic. 

I took out sewing tools from my bag and laid them out on the table. When I pulled out plushies, Kotobuki suddenly noticed something.

“By the way, I forgot to ask earlier, but is that yours?”

“No, it’s for Kotomi.”

Since Momoi was a closet otaku, I couldn’t reveal it was a birthday present for her. 

But, come to think of it, it would be awkward to give it to her at the birthday party. If I put it in a bag and said “Open it later,” maybe that would work? I hadn’t been invited to the birthday party yet, but I should ask Kotomi later about the plan.

“Sewing for your sister, huh?”

Kotobuki looked impressed. I nodded my head.

“Yeah, though what I make is more like a prototype. I’ll learn the ropes here and then teach Kotomi later.”

Otherwise, it wouldn’t become a present from Kotomi but from me. I also had to prepare my present for Momoi, but the plushie took precedence.

“Fujisaki-kun, you’re really family-oriented.”

“Looks really can be deceiving.”

Being praised by the girls, I felt a bit embarrassed.

“Have you decided what kind of clothes you’re making?”

“Yeah, Kotomi made a request.”

I fiddled with my phone and showed them an image on a clear file.

Although Kotomi didn’t openly admit her otaku side, that was mainly due to a lack of opportunities or someone to share it with. She allowed me to bring the plushies, and unlike Momoi, she didn’t intend to hide it. Momoi was just overly concerned, but I doubted either of them held any bias against otaku.

“These characters are Hot Blood-chan and Bit Hot-chan… I’d like to recreate not only the costume but also the shoes and ice cream if possible.”

Takase, who was earnestly looking at the image, nodded confidently.

“I can handle something like this.”

“As expected, I’m counting on you, Takase!”

“Yeah, yeah. You can rest assured. So, did you bring the fabric marker?”

“Yeah, I brought it.”

“Then, let’s start by making the pattern.”

“What about me?”

“What kind of amulet do you want to make, Ran-chan?”

“Umm… this one.”

Kotobuki took a piece of paper from a drawer and placed it on the table. Looks like the club members had been brainstorming design together, as the paper had a drawing of the amulet.

It was designed like a volleyball uniform, with the name on the front and a volleyball on the back.

“Ran-chan, you should start with the fabric marker for the pattern too.”

“Got it. Fujisaki, can I borrow the marker?”

“Feel free to use it. By the way, how long are we working today?”

It depended on how clumsy Kotobuki was, but considering the workload, I had more things to do. If we disbanded once Kotobuki finished her part, I would end up stopping midway.

“I’m sorry if you have to stop halfway, but I can’t let a guy stay over. How long will you stay, Narumi?”

“I’m not pressed for time, but I think Fujisaki-kun’s clothes can be done by 7pm.”

“I see.”

“In that case, let me stay around until 7pm”

“Sure, consider it a perk of being in the same school.”

“I’m glad I’m from West Koigishi Middle School.”

“It was a good school. They have an indoor pool and spacious gym. Well, the school anthem was weird, though.”

“I know. They chanted ‘mountain’ a lot.”

“Even though there are no mountains nearby.”

“There probably were in the past—”

“Hey, you two, focus on your work!”

Takase playfully scolded us, and we got back to our works.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started