Plebian Translation

OtakuZero V2 Chapter 1 Part 2

Published by

on

Translator: Alisa
Editor: Dexter

Please buy the official translation or the japanese raw to support the author


That evening.

Having finished dinner and a quick bath, I diligently tackled my homework, delving into the review for the first semester. Final exams were scheduled for five days in early July, and I was committed to preparing for them.

I wasn’t naturally inclined towards studying. Back in middle school, I was the type to cram right before exams. However, entering high school brought about a transformation in me.

After learning about Takase’s struggle with studying, I harbored the hope that if I showcased my intelligence, she would rely on me when in need of help with studies. With this expectation in my heart, I started studying.

Last month marked a significant moment for me. I had a study session with Momoi and Takase, and after earnestly teaching them, I received the compliment, “Fujisaki-kun, you’re so kind.”

I managed to appeal as someone reliable last time. Perhaps this time, I could be relied upon again. Following that, I might be able to steer conversations toward post-exam plans like, “Let’s have fun when the exams are over!” “How about going to the beach?” “Sounds great! Let’s go to the beach!” And the image of Takase in a swimsuit—just too enticing…

To ensure I could spend that ideal summer, I needed to study with enthusiasm!

“Haru-nii, are you awake?”

It was around 9 PM when Kotomi’s voice reached me along with a gentle knock.

“Yeah, I’m up,” I replied through the door, and Kotomi timidly opened it. 

Clad in an anime T-shirt and knee-length shorts, she looked like she was about to cry.

“What’s wrong, Kotomi?”

“I… I need your help, Haru-nii.”

“Is the homework too difficult?”

“I do need help with that, but it’s not about homework…”

“Is there a bug in your room?”

“No, not a bug…”

Kotomi averted her eyes awkwardly, struggling to articulate her thoughts. I recognized this expression; I’d seen it frequently since last month.

“…Is this related to Mahorin?”

Kotomi nodded faintly.

“It’s about Mahorin again…”

“Got it. Another offline meeting?”

Kotomi had been playing a game called “Life of Farmer” since her second year of middle school. It was a slow-life simulation where players took on the role of farm owners and interacted with each other in the game world. 

In this virtual realm, Kotomi married Mahorin.

Apparently, marriage in the game left a chat log as a record of the couple’s journey, and Kotomi enjoyed their conversations so much that she decided to get married.

The chat logs with Mahorin mainly revolved around anime, manga, and games. Consequently, when it came to offline meetings, discussions naturally gravitated  towards these topics. 

However, the problem was that I had zero interest and knowledge in anime, manga, or games. Sure, I might recognize popular titles like Doraemon, Demon Slayer, or Pokémon, but that was about it.

Over the past month, I had acquired knowledge about anime and games like Driste, Urbat, and Passionate Warrior Princess, but it paled in comparison to Kotomi’s expertise. 

Nevertheless, to avoid blowing my cover as a stand-in, I must be able to keep up with otaku discussions. For the success of the offline meeting, acquiring the necessary knowledge was crucial. I could accept watching anime at this point. After all, the anime Kotomi recommended turned out to be enjoyable, and it wasn’t like I hated reading manga or playing games. 

The real issue was the timing of the offline meeting. If it was scheduled for tomorrow, I’d have to scold my sister—does the word “repent” even exist in your dictionary?

“No, it’s not an offline meeting.”

Not an offline meeting?

“But it’s related to Mahorin, right?”

“Yeah, exactly.” Kotomi nodded and proceeded to explain, “You know, Mahorin’s birthday is the same as Bit Hot-chan’s.”

“Bit Hot-chan… the character with droopy eyes from Passionate Warrior Princess?”

“That’s the one! Haru-nii, you remembered!”

“Well, we just went to the art exhibition the other day.”

As for the Passionate Warrior Princess exhibition, Kotomi and Momoi discussed going together at the amusement park, but I only found out two days before the event that I was joining them.

Momoi wanted to be friends with an otaku girl, and now that the two of them had become friends, I figured my role was done. From now on, Momoi and Kotomi would enjoy their otaku activities together.

That was what I assumed, but Momoi didn’t seem inclined to exclude me.

It made sense when you thought about it. I went by the name Jet Black Yasha. For Momoi, Jet Black Yasha was her first otaku friend. There was no way she would leave me out considering her friendly nature.

That’s why it was settled that the three of us would engage in otaku activities together. Therefore, when I heard the mention of Bit Hot-chan’s birthday and the connection to Mahorin, I braced myself, thinking it was another invitation to otaku activities. But…

“Just to be clear, I have no idea when Bit Hot-chan’s birthday is.”

“Didn’t you check her profile at the art exhibition?”

“I was too sleepy at that time.”

I was only informed two days before the art exhibition. Back then, Passionate Warrior Princess had aired up to the tenth episode of its third season. So I needed to catch up with the latest episodes before the exhibit.

“I’m sorry for the trouble…”

“It’s fine. You’re not to blame for anything regarding the art exhibition.”

“Thanks, Haru-nii…”

“Don’t mention it. Now, getting back to the point, when is Bit Hot-chan’s birthday?”

“July 2nd.”

“In nine days, huh? Since you’re talking about her birthday, does it mean you’ve been invited to a birthday party?”

“No, not yet.”

“I see. Well, Momoi will probably contact you soon.”

July 2nd fell on Sunday. Her three close friends would definitely be there to celebrate. While I wasn’t sure where the birthday party would be held, Kotomi was Momoi’s friend, so she’d get a call soon.

“By the way, I told Mahorin… I mean, Momoi-san, that I’d give her the best present ever.”

“Momoi will love that.”

“Yeah,” Kotomi smiled happily, but her expression darkened soon after. “But when I thought about it, it will end up being a present from you, Haru-nii…”

Indeed, a present from Jet Black Yasha implied it was gift from Fujisaki Haruto. I would be the one giving Momoi the ‘best present.’

But that was something I could manage.

“Don’t worry, I’ll take care of the present.”

“But… Haru-nii, are you sure about spending your allowance?”

“Don’t sweat it. Unlike you, I’m the type who saves money.”

After all, Momoi was my friend too. She treated me to clothes and a wristwatch before, that’s why spending a bit for her wasn’t an issue. Although I probably wouldn’t be invited to the birthday celebration, there would be an otaku meetup eventually. I could give her the present then.

“By the way, what are you getting her, Kotomi?” I asked casually.

Kotomi’s expression turned serious. It looked like the real discussion was about to start.

“I was thinking of giving her a plushie.”

“A plushie?”

“A plushie of her favorite character.”

“That sounds like a good idea.”

Girls generally loved plushies, and a plushie of their favorite character would likely bring joy.

“I thought it was a great idea, but it’s a bit tricky…”

“Tricky?”

“Yeah. It’d be easier to show you. Come with me.”

Following her request, I followed Kotomi to her room. Even though I helped her clean it recently, it was already messy again.

“You should ventilate the place occasionally, or you’ll get sick.”

“I’ll be fine.”

“Get a professional to clean your air conditioner. You haven’t cleaned it once since you bought it, right? Want me to ask Dad for you?”

“I’ll do it sometime.”

Kotomi was always like this. I wasn’t sure if she didn’t like others entering her room or if she was embarrassed about her figures and tapestries, she avoided the question every time.

“So, what is it that you want to show me?”

“Um…”

Kotomi carefully approached the desk, making sure not to kick the cardboard boxes. She picked up two plushies – one with sharp red hair and determined eyes, the other with soft blue hair and a dreamy gaze.

“So, these are…”

“Are these Hot Blood-chan and Bit Hot-chan?”

“You get that!? Yes, exactly! This one is Hot Blood-chan, and this is Bit Hot-chan! Phew, I’m glad Haru-nii got it! With this, even Momoi-san should understand, right?”

“I get it, but… why are you so happy?”

She’d bought plushies of Hot Blood-chan and Bit Hot-chan, so knowing the character names was a given.

To my perplexed expression, Kotomi proudly declared, “I made these!”

“Really? You, Kotomi?”

“Yeah! I bought a DIY plush kit and attached matching face patches! The hairstyle was a bit tricky, but I’m confident I did well!”

“You really did a great job. I see, you made these. Momoi would be very happy too.”

Given her ecstatic reaction at the art exhibition, Momoi probably loved Passionate Warrior Princess even more than Kotomi did. An exclusive plushie like this would undoubtedly make her thrilled.

However, there was one thing that caught my attention.

“Why are Hot Blood-chan and Bit Hot-chan… naked?”

Although nudity didn’t occur in the original series, I wondered if Kotomi decided to create a bathing scene for her unique plushies. However, my assumption was off the mark.

“Here’s the thing…”

Kotomi’s expression clouded as she pulled out a crumpled piece of fabric from her desk drawer.

“And this is?”

“…Clothes.”

“Clothes?”

“More precisely, an one-piece dress.”

“This is supposed to be a dress…?”

“…It doesn’t look like a dress, right?”

“Well… yeah. I know you put a lot of effort into it, but it doesn’t quite resemble a ‘dress.’”

It resembled a crumpled handkerchief more than anything else.

Despite the eyes and hair being well-crafted, I couldn’t help but wonder why only the dress was of such questionable quality. I speculated that, unlike the plushie kit, this dress was an original creation by Kotomi herself.

“Didn’t the DIY plush kit come with clothes?”

“It did, and there were instructions too, but I really wanted to dress Bit Hot-chan in an one-piece dress…”

“Why?”

“Wait a sec.”

Kotomi started fiddling with the computer, navigating to the official site of Passionate Warrior Princess and clicking on the campaign page.

“I wanted to recreate this…”

On the monitor, an illustration of the warrior heroines enjoying ice cream in front of a convenience store appeared. Hot Blood-chan wore a loose-fitting T-shirt and snug pants, while Bit Hot-chan was clad in a pure white one-piece dress.

“I was chatting with Momoi-san the other day, and she got excited about this clear file illustration… Momoi-san said the interaction between Hot Blood-chan and Bit Blood-chan is precious. That’s why I thought she would be happy if I gave her plushies recreating the same scene…”

Kotomi’s voice gradually wilted. While she managed to craft the eyes, mouth, and hair successfully, she struggled with the costume and lost her confidence.

“Please, Haru-nii, help me with the costume…”

This was the reason she reached out to me.

“Let me make it clear; I’m not good at crafts either.”

“Yeah… But, having Haru-nii’s help would be reassuring…”

I’d like to help in some way, but…

“…Does it absolutely have to be a plushie? If you want a unique gift, a novel would work, wouldn’t it?”

“A novel?”

“Yeah, remember the one you had me read back in your chuunibyou1 days? The one where Fujisaki Kotomi gets transported to another world, showcases modern knowledge, and gets praised like crazy.”

Her face gradually turned red, her body was shaking.

“You… remember that?”

“I do. Where you have infinite stats, and you defeat some ridiculously powerful monster with a single blow, and you’re relentlessly pursued by handsome guys—”

“Aaaaaaah!”

“Hey, don’t scream suddenly. Dad’s gonna get mad.”

“F-Forget it! Forget it, forget it, Beam! Forget it, Beam!2

Kotomi, with a blazing red face, mimicked the action of firing a gun. Back then, she had flaunted her writing and demanded me to read it, but now she looked incredibly flustered.

“If it’s that embarrassing, don’t force me to read it…”

“B-But, because I managed to write it well, I wanted someone to read it… Looking back, it was a totally chaotic story.”

“It wasn’t that bad. You wrote well enough that I could read it to the end. So, what do you call it? Fanfiction? What about giving Passionate Warrior Princess’s version as a present?

“N-No way! It’s embarrassing! A-And there might be misunderstandings if it’s fanfiction… Momoi-san would get angry…”

“That won’t happen. Momoi is nice. She won’t get upset if her friend worked hard for it.”

“D-Do you think so…?”

“I do. That’s why if you’ve put your heart into it, any kind of plushie will make her happy. If Momoi did the same for you, wouldn’t you be delighted?”

“Y-Yeah. I’d be really happy… I’d cherish it forever.”

Perhaps imagining the scene of receiving a plushie as a present, Kotomi smiled happily. Then, her expression turned serious.

“But, because Momoi-san is my precious friend… if possible, I want to give her the perfect plushie.”

Kotomi’s determination was unwavering. Making the plushie costume was a daunting task, and its usefulness remained uncertain. Still, the desire to present a one-of-a-kind plushie for her friend was admirable.

Moreover, Momoi was also my friend. If helping out could make a friend happy, I couldn’t just sit back.

“Alright. I’ll help you.”

“Thank you, Haru-nii!”

Kotomi must had truly trusted me, as she had a bright smile on her face even though nothing had been resolved yet.


Translation notes:

  1. “Chuunibyou” is a Japanese term that translates to “middle school second-year syndrome” in English. It refers to a stage in adolescence where individuals, typically in their middle school years, may exhibit exaggerated or delusional behavior, often characterized by a heightened sense of self-importance and a belief in possessing special powers or knowledge. ↩︎
  2. UI-BEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM. ↩︎

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started